Here you can find an outline of the CSRH Training Portfolio. 

CSRH training is a six-year programme, divided into basic, intermediate and advanced training, across 15 modules.

•Basic training: ST1, ST2 and ST3 (3 years)
•Intermediate training: ST4 and ST5 (2 years)
•Advanced training: ST6 (1 year)


New SRH curriculum 15 modules – competency based - a more detailed description of these modules is given on the FSRH website.

  1. Basic skills
  2. Contraception
  3. Unplanned pregnancy and abortion care
  4. Gynaecology
  5. Specialist gynae
  6. Pregnancy
  7. Menopause and PMS
  8. GUM
  9. Public health
  10. Teaching, appraisal and assessment
  11. Ethics and legal issues
  12. Leadership
  13. Research, audit, IT
  14. Sexual assault
  15. Sexual problems


The GMC approved the CSRH curriculum, including its content and structure, on Since then, the curriculum has had two small revisions, both approved by the GMC; every CSRH trainee completes this same curriculum. Although there are no sub-specialties, there should be opportunity to develop a special interest within this field, particularly in your final year.